"Primitives"

Levent Ozruh

Material

Post-process

Product details

Available on request

Quartz sand (SH – F01)

Infiltration + colouring

400 x 400 x 600 mm (Bounding Box)

40 - 60 kg depending on which piece

London (UK), 2020

Primitives

Levent Ozruh has designed a family of nightstands that diverge from similar algorithmic DNA. As objects they are hybrids of sculpture and furniture; they are a frozen instant of the negotiation between the visual and functional agenda.

 

The morphology of each object is intended to lead to a reevaluation of what makes an object primitive; the generated aesthetics, the tools of creation, or the society it is produced for? 

 

While the formal language and aesthetics of the PRIMITIVES appear to be raw and archaic, the means of creation explores contemporary computational processes. This leads to a gap between the appearance and the codified recipes that are written as a series of algorithmic procedures by the designer. 

Swirls and indentations are brought to the fore by simple colouration and the play of light and shadow. This is further amplified by the textured finish of the quartz; as light levels change throughout the day the colouration of the PRIMITIVES change emphasising the transience of time.

 

The additive manufacturing process has created objects that are related but not identical. These six objects are a demonstration of the control of complexity exercised by the designer, curating the varied entities produced by the algorithm’s rules. Each piece retains integrity but they have different functional capacities; for example, in some the useable surface area is reduced, allowing design drivers to take precedence and in others, the opposite occurs.

 

Levent Ozruh

Trained as an architectural designer in the United Kingdom, Levent Ozruh was educated at University of Edinburgh and UCL’s Bartlett School of Architecture. He has worked as an architectural designer in Austria, Italy, UK.

 

Prior to his masters at the Bartlett, he was an researcher at MIT under the Senseable City Lab.Currently, Levent is a Teaching Fellow at the Bartlett, co-leading a postgraduate design studio that focuses on the intersection of Bio-Spatial Design and Aritificial Intelligence. Levent’s work oscillates between small scale physical fabrications to speculative digital imagery of architecture.

also see:

"Primitives"

Levent Ozruh

Material

Nachbearbeitung

Produktdetails

Auf Anfrage verfügbar

Quarzsand (SH – F01)

Infiltration + gefärbt

400 x 400 x 600 mm (Bounding Box)

40 - 60 kg abhänging vom Teil    

London (Großbritanien), 2021
Video + Photography by Studio Naaro

Primitives

Levent Ozruh hat eine Familie von Nachttischen entworfen, die von einer gleichartigen algorithmischen DNA abweicht. Als Objekte sind sie Hybride aus Skulptur und Möbel; sie sind ein eingefrorener Moment der Verhandlung zwischen der visuellen und funktionalen Agenda.

Die Morphologie eines jeden Objekts soll zu einer Neubewertung dessen führen, was ein Objekt primitiv macht: die generierte Ästhetik, die Werkzeuge der Schöpfung oder die Gesellschaft, für die es produziert wird? 

Während die formale Sprache und Ästhetik der PRIMITIVES roh und archaisch erscheinen, erforschen die Mittel der Kreation zeitgenössische rechnerische Prozesse. Dies führt zu einer Kluft zwischen der Erscheinung und den kodifizierten Anweisungen, die als eine Reihe von algorithmischen Prozeduren vom Designer geschrieben werden. 
 

Wirbel und Vertiefungen werden durch einfache Farbgebung und das Spiel von Licht und Schatten in den Vordergrund gerückt. Dies wird durch die strukturierte Oberfläche des Sandes noch verstärkt. Je nach Lichteinfall ändert sich die Färbung der PRIMITIVES und betont die Vergänglichkeit der Zeit.

Der additive Fertigungsprozess hat Objekte geschaffen, die zwar verwandt, aber nicht identisch sind. Diese sechs Objekte sind eine Demonstration der Kontrolle der Komplexität, die der Designer ausübt, indem er die verschiedenen Einheiten, die durch die Regeln des Algorithmus erzeugt werden, kuratiert. Jedes Stück behält seine Integrität, aber sie haben unterschiedliche funktionale Kapazitäten; zum Beispiel ist bei einigen die nutzbare Oberfläche reduziert, so dass die Designtreiber Vorrang haben und bei anderen das Gegenteil der Fall ist.

 

Levent Ozruh

Als Architekturdesigner in Großbritannien wurde Levent Ozruh an der University of Edinburgh und der UCL's Bartlett School of Architecture ausgebildet. Während seiner Berufslaufbahn hat er bereits in Österreich, Italien und Großbritannien gearbeitet. Vor seinem Master an der Bartlett war er Forscher am MIT im Rahmen des Senseable City Lab.

Derzeit ist Levent Teaching Fellow an der Bartlett School und leitet ein Postgraduate Design Studio, das sich auf die Schnittstelle von Bio-Spatial Design und künstlicher Intelligenz konzentriert. Levent's Arbeit oszilliert zwischen kleinformatigen physischen Konstruktionen und spekulativen digitalen Bildern von Architektur.

Siehe auch: